Leon’s Swan Song

Leon Osinski has worked as a librarian at Eindhoven University of Technology for 32 years. Here, we celebrate his career success and long service as a founder member of 4TU.ResearchData as he begins his retirement.

Let’s rewind to 1988. The first famous cyber worm posed a major attack on the internet; initial discussions at CERN led to the invention of the World Wide Web; and, on the 1st of August, Leon Osinksi started his position as a librarian within the Faculty of Philosophy and Social Sciences at TU/e.

Leon’s early research career began with a master’s degree in Psychology at Radboud University.

“Jobs in the field of Psychology were difficult to find, so I invested in a further two-year library education at the University of Amsterdam.” 

He continues, “I loved libraries and books. After six months of working as a librarian, I knew I would do it forever.”

Blast from the past! Leon started his role as Philosophy and Social Sciences
Faculty Librarian at TU/e in 1988 (photo TU/e).

The birth of the web

Leon has witnessed the extensive digital transformation of academic institutions brought about by the World Wide Web. “When I first joined the library, I could never have imagined the changes that were about to take place. The internet developments changed everything.”

He reflects on the uncertainty of that time. “Some of my colleagues were very apprehensive about these developments. I remember many debates about whether or not they would be good for the library.”

Yet, Leon’s personal thoughts on the subject have always been positive. He began writing articles about the internet in the library’s magazine, and delivered courses on the internet for faculty staff.